New Board Members Announced

Posted: 08/14/2012

La Plume – Susan Belin, Mark Carpenter, and Betty Turock, Ph.D. have been elected as the newest members of the Keystone College Board of Trustees.

“I join Keystone College President Dr. Edward G. Boehm, Jr. in welcoming Susan, Mark, and Betty to the Board of Trustees,” said Keystone board chairman Thomas “Tim” Speicher. “The Keystone College community will benefit greatly from their knowledge, expertise, and dedication to our college.”

Susan BelinMrs. Belin, Waverly, returns to service as a long-time member of the Keystone board, having served from 1983-1996 and 2002-2011.  

Mrs. Belin served as president and executive vice president for the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute and marketing director for Healthcare Management Resources, Inc. She was also marketing director for Leung Hemmler Camayd Architects, alumni director at Keystone College, a member of Marywood University faculty and president of SSB Professional Services Marketing. She has been a history teacher at Torah Academy for Girls, Scranton, and The Ellis School, Pittsburgh.

Mrs. Belin has a bachelor’s degree in history from Wheaton College and a master’s degree in business administration from the State University of New York at Binghamton and has attended the master’s program at the University of California at Berkley.

She has received numerous professional awards for her civic, charitable and professional accomplishments, including the Keystone College Presidential Medallion, the Keystone College Distinguished Service Award, the Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award from the Scranton Area Foundation, and the Vision of Hope Award from the American Cancer Society. She was named a Distinguished Daughter of Pennsylvania by Governor Robert Casey in 1994. Mrs. Belin is married to Dorrance R. Belin. The Belins have three sons and five grandchildren.    

Mark CarpenterMark Carpenter, Factoryville, is a first-time member of the Keystone board. He is vice president and chief financial officer for Select Sire Power, Inc., Tunkhannock. He has also served in leadership positions at Penn Foster and the California College of Health Sciences. 

Mr. Carpenter also serves as board chairman and past president of the Wyoming County Chamber of Commerce, a board member of the Northern Tier Industry Education Consortium and associate director of Peoples Neighborhood Bank. He has also served as a board member of the United Way of Wyoming County and Professionals Organized and Working to Enrich the Region (POWER). Mr. Carpenter received the Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition for outstanding and invaluable service to the community. He is a member of Delta Mu Delta, International Honor Society in Business Administration and the National Society of Accountants for Cooperatives.  

He has presented at numerous professional conferences and workshops including the National Leadership Forum, The Governor’s Technology Council and Ethics in the Workplace.   

Mr. Carpenter obtained a bachelor’s of science degree from Penn State University and a master of business administration degree from Marywood University. He and his wife, Tiffany, have two daughters, Paige and Madeline. 

Dr. Betty TurockDr. Turock returns to the Keystone board, having previously served from 2002-2011. She is professor and dean emeritus at Rutgers University, where for 22 years she was a member of the faculty of the School of Communication and Information. For eight years, she was director of the master’s program and chair of the Department of Library and Information Science.

Before entering academe, Dr. Turock held management posts in school, public, and academic libraries. She served as senior adviser in the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement.

Dr. Turock has received numerous national and professional awards and honors, including the 2011 Distinguished Alumna Award from the Rutgers University Graduate School. At the American Library Association’s 2012 conference with 25,000 members in attendance, the ALA awarded her honorary membership, the highest honor the association can bestow. A Charles Weston Scholar at Keystone College, Dr. Turock earned a bachelor’s degree from Syracuse University and a master’s and doctorate from Rutgers.

Among other organizations, Dr. Turock is a member of the Board of Advisors and the Dean’s Council at John Hopkins Medical School and Johns Hopkins Hospital; the National Library Council, John Hopkins Undergraduate University; and the boards of the American Library in Paris, France and the Trejo Foster Foundation, Tucson, Arizona.

Keystone also elected new board officers: Thomas G. Speicher, ’72, chair: Susan S. Belin, first vice chair; William Aubrey II, second vice chair; Susan Scranton Dawson, secretary; Joseph Quinn, treasurer; John Pullo, ’69, assistant secretary/treasurer.