2013 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Chair announced

  • Homect_img
  • Newsct_img
  • 2013 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Chair announced

Posted: 05/02/2013

Chamberlin ChairLa Plume – Keystone College President Dr. Edward G. Boehm, Jr. announced that Associate Professor Karen Yarrish, Ph.D., has been named the 2013 recipient of the Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Chair Award for Distinguished Faculty Service.

The award, established by the family and friends of the late Margaretta Belin Chamberlin, Keystone’s sixth president, commemorates her leadership and many accomplishments at the college. Presented annually to a faculty member for outstanding achievement in teaching, professional development, and contributions to the Keystone community, Dr. Yarrish is the 34th recipient of the award.

Dr. Yarrish’s career at Keystone College began in 1998 as an assistant professor. She currently serves as chair of the Division of Business, Management, and Technology, serving as an advocate for her colleagues. Dr. Yarrish has served Keystone both in and out of the classroom and she is currently chairing the college’s strategic planning process.

Dr. Yarrish engages in scholarly research outside of the classroom, often collaborating with colleagues and students. Recently, she led Keystone students abroad, presenting research at the International Business and Economics Conference in Paris and Clute Institute for Academic Research in Ireland.

Her impact extends beyond the Keystone community. Dr. Yarrish currently services on the boards of Maternal Family Health Services and the Northeastern Pennsylvania Society for Human Resources Management. She also volunteers with Blue Chip Farms Animal Refuge, a no-kill shelter.

Dr. Yarrish received a bachelor of science degree in business administration from King’s College, a master of science degree in human resources administration from the University of Scranton, and a doctorate degree in workforce education and development from the Pennsylvania State University. She resides in Wyoming, Pa., with her husband, Craig.

The Keystone College community will celebrate Dr. Yarrish’s accomplishments with a special reception.

Photo Caption: Gathering following the announcement of the 2013 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Chair for Distinguished Faculty Service Award, from left are: Dr. Sherry S. Strain, professor and chair of Faculty Senate; Craig Yarrish, Dr. Yarrish’s husband; Dr. Karen Yarrish, award recipient; Bernadine Norkunas, Dr. Yarrish’s mother; Leon Kern, Dr. Yarrish’s brother; Nancy Kern, Dr. Yarrish’s sister-in-law; and Dr. Edward G. Boehm, Jr., president.